Malaysians enjoy many public holidays each year. The school term starts in January and ends around mid-November with 4 breaks in between. Meanwhile, certain states observe more holidays as compared to others depending on their demographic and other factors.

Federal Holidays

Each year, Malaysia experiences a series of federal holidays which are observed by the entire country. It must be noted that while federal holidays are usually applicable to all states, there are a numbered few that does not follow.

  1. 1 January, Tuesday – New Year’s Day – Observed by most states except Perlis, Teregganu, Kelantan, Kedah, Kelantan and Johor
  2. 21 January, Monday – Thaipusam – celebrated only in Kuala Lumpur, Negeri Sembilan, Johor, Putrajaya, Selangor, Perak and Penang
  3. 1 February, Friday – Federal Territory Day – Only applicable and observed in Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan (being Federal Territories of Malaysia)
  4. 5 and 6 February, Tuesday and Wednesday – Chinese New Year – Nationwide celebrations
  5. 1 May, Wednesday – Labour Day – Nationwide
  6. 19 May, Sunday – Wesak Day, holiday observed on 20 May except Johor, Kelantan, Terengganu and Kedah
  7. 22 May, Wednesday – Nuzul Quran – observed nationwide except in Kedah, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Sabah, Sarawak and Johor
  8. 5 and 6 June, Wednesday and Thursday, – Eid Mubarak also known as Hari Raya Aidilfitri
  9. 11 and 12 August, Sunday and Monday – Hari Raya Haji
  10. 31 August, Saturday – Merdeka Day
  11. 1 September, Sunday – Awal Muharram
  12. 9 September, Monday – the Yang Dipertuan Agong’s Birthday
  13. 16 September, Monday – Malaysia Day
  14. 27 October, Sunday – Deepavali
  15. 9 November, Saturday – Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday
  16. 25 December, Wednesday – Christmas Day

State Level Holidays

Besides the holidays observed at the federal level, the respective have their own holidays as well. They are as follow:

2019 School Holidays

The school terms have not been confirmed by the Ministry of Education and will be updated when it becomes available.