Sabah Holiday Guide

The state of Sabah makes up one of the 2 states that form East Malaysia. It has a land size of 73,631 km2 and a recorded population of 3.1 million people. The state capital here is Kota Kinabalu which is where the international airport and generally the nucleus of the state. It borders with Sarawak towards the southwest of the state. Its major towns apart from Kota Kinabalu includes Lahad Datu, Kudat, Sandakan, Tawau Beafuort and Keningau. Sabah is known very much for its eco-tourism industry that includes the highest peak in Malaysia, Mount Kinabalu and diving spots around it coast.

Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

The state capital of Sabah is Kota Kinabalu where it has a land size of 351 km2 in the city. It has a recorded population of around 620,000 people where it was previously known as Jesselton. Kota Kinabalu is the main transportation hub of the state that connects other parts by air, land and sea. It is also the gateway towards the Mount Kinabalu National Park. Kota Kinabalu is located towards the northwest region of the state with a coastline that faces out to the South China Sea. Heading inwards towards the west will be Kundasang and Sandakan is on the opposite tip of the state. Tuaran an Kudat are towards the north while Beaufort is towards it south.

Sandakan, Sabah

The town of Sandakan is one of the major areas in East Malaysian state Sabah. It has a land size of 2,266 km2 and a population of about half a million people. It is the second largest city in the state after Kota Kinabalu and is located around the coastline at the north-eastern region of the state. It was the former capital of Sabah when it was known as North Borneo. This is where one would usually go to enjoy the ecotourism industry here where it is located towards the north of Lahad Datu. Tawau is located towards the south while it heads out to the Sulu Sea in the east.

Tawau, Sabah

The third largest town in Sabah is Tawau after Kota Kinabalu and Sandakan. It is one of the major areas here with a land size of 6,125 km2 and a population of around 381,000 people. The administrative center of Tawau division in Sabah is located around the south-eastern coast of the state where it faces the Celebes Sea in that direction. The western side of the town are basically filled with mountains and deep forests while Lahad Datu and Sandakan are around the northern areas although they are not directly linked.

Lahad Datu, Sabah

Lahad Datu is one of the major towns in Sabah and is one of the districts that make up the Tawau division. It is located at the eastern coast of Sabah and is part of Darvel Bay’s north. Lahad Datu is very much renowned to be a plantation based town which is rich for its cocoa and palm oil produce. It is connected to Tawau towards its south-west while towards the north is Sandakan. It has a coastline that looks out to the Celebes Sea on the west while the eastern regions are made up of deep forests and mountains.

Kudat, Sabah

The Kudat region is one of the major districts in East Malaysian state of Sabah. It has a recorded population of around 70,000 people and is located on the northern most areas of the state. Its closest town here is Kota Marudu which leads to Tuaran and then to the state capital Kota Kinabalu. Although not directly connected Sandakan is on its south east where Kudat’s east faces the Sulu Sea. Its west is the South China Sea.

Sandakan Sabah

Sandakan is one of the major cities in Sabah. It is known for its natural beauty and rich culture of the people. Once a major trading town, Sandakan has since grown to become a major city in the East Malaysian state, welcoming thousands of visitors

Read More »

Gunung Kinabalu – Introduction

When you visit Kota Kinabalu in Sabah, Mount Kinabalu would be visible at almost every corner of the state capital. In fact, it is synonymous with the city where you can hike to the peak although some preparations will be required. One of the highest

Read More »


Tawau is the third largest town in Sabah state located southeast coast facing the spectacular Celebes Sea. Basically, the town is separated into three main areas which are Sabindo, Tawau Lama and Fajar. Each area is specifically catered for different activities. For instance, one can

Read More »


Once known as ‘Little Hong Kong’, Sandakan is the second largest city in Sabah today. This city served as the capital of British North Borneo back in 1880s to 1940s. Sandakan largest town in Sabah It was then the largest town in Sabah due to

Read More »

Pulau Layang-Layang

Malaysia has some of the most beautiful islands in the world. If you are looking for a place to unwind where you can enjoy the sun and sea, you can head to many of these islands which are around the country. Pulau Layang-Layang a great

Read More »

Kota Kinabalu

Kota Kinabalu is located at the western region of Sabah and is the most important administrative center in the East Malaysian state. It is the capital of Sabah where it houses the main transportation gateway for domestic and international flights through the Kota Kinabalu International

Read More »


The east Malaysian state of Sabah welcomes millions of tourists each year, hence it is common that one would be able to find a wide range of budget accommodations here catered to the backpackers, business travellers as well those who are here for vacation. The

Read More »